thoughts in color

I have a new obsession.  Art journaling!  I have always kept a regular journal (and still have one of course) but I haven’t owned any art supplies since I was a kid.  I started seeing stuff on Pinterest about art journaling, and I got inspired.  I used to make art just for fun all the time, and it had been so long!  Suddenly I found myself craving that satisfaction of putting color onto a blank surface.  So, I went to an art store and got some basic supplies!

I am having so much fun with this.  It doesn’t really matter to me if what I create is any good, but it just feels sooo good to express myself in this way.  It’s extremely cathartic.  There are no rules, just whatever I am inspired to put on the page.  Oil pastels, water colors, colored pencils, stamps, magazine cut outs…anything goes!  Thoughts, dreams, silly ideas…whatever.  This is my place to get messy, to experiment, to color outside the lines.  It’s the most wonderful outlet for me.  I feel like a kid again!  It’s an emotional release for me as well a chance to create.  I never know what’s going to come out and it’s exciting to watch as what’s in my mind begins to express itself on the page.

Anyway, I just had to share!

7 thoughts on “thoughts in color

    • Amy you were one of the people who inspired me! I realized that all it would take is a quick stop at the art store for some basic supplies and I would be set. So thank you! :D

  1. That is so pretty Lisa! Gosh and what a wonderful idea! I used to draw, paint and create all the time. As I got older I stopped. I’d really like to start again. I think I am going to dig out all of my art supplies this week and create something! I hope to see and read more of your posts. I love the way you write…by the way :)

    • Thanks Nicole! You should do it. It’s so satisfying! I feels good to get a little messy and just see what happens. I’m a little dorky and what I’m most excited about is once it starts to fill up and I can flip through and look at everything. Hahaha.

  2. I love this! I’ve recently started kind of scrapbook journalling… just collecting little things like ticket stubs and emails and snapshots and pasting them into a handwritten journal. It IS satisfying :)

Leave a comment